Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: First Masterfile Letter...Let's get started.  (Read 4280 times)

Nitrotech

• View Profile
First Masterfile Letter...Let's get started.
« on: February 22, 2012, 03:35:43 PM »
First I want to thank all of you for investing so much of your time on this site.  As a small business owner, I know how valuable time is and your help is greatly appreciated. 

Two weeks ago I received a certified FedEx delivery from Masterfile.  The letter claims that I have used one of their images on my website and that I need to send them $ 4,830 or they will initiate a lawsuit for copyright infringement.

Here are the facts:

In 2008, I was starting my own business.  After designing my own company logo in Microsoft Publisher, a friend of mine mentioned that it would look better if there was a picture of the earth behind it.  I went out to Google images and grabbed the first generic earth picture I saw.  I used Microsoft Publisher to put my logo over-top of the earth and combined them to create one .jpg image.

I was amazed that a single image could be worth 5k but after all the research I have done on this site, I now understand how crazy this claim really is.

I am thinking of using Oscar Michelen's Letter Program but don't seem to be able to access the link.   It errors out on a 404 - Page not found.

Has anyone else had this problem? 

Any Suggestions?

Robert Krausankas (BuddhaPi)

• ELI Defense Team Member
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
    • ExtortionLetterInfo
Re: First Masterfile Letter...Let's get started.
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2012, 03:48:59 PM »