Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: Copyright Infringement Claim  (Read 37196 times)

stinger

• View Profile
Re: Copyright Infringement Claim
« Reply #15 on: January 21, 2015, 04:21:37 PM »
I suggest you research this topic on this forum.  Multiple court jurisdictions have ruled that hot linking is NOT copyright infringement.  I am not a lawyer, but I would guess a plug-in is a lot like lot linking.  If the image in question has never been hosted on your site, I would think you are on strong legal ground.

Greg Troy (KeepFighting)

• ELI Defense Team Member
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Yeah, We Do That.
« Reply #16 on: January 21, 2015, 11:50:14 PM »
Stinger is correct if by "pulled" you mean the image is hotlink, if it is downloaded to your server then that is a different story.
Every situation is unique, any advice or opinions I offer are given for your consideration only. You must decide what is best for you and your particular situation. I am not a lawyer and do not offer legal advice.

--Greg Troy

Robert Krausankas (BuddhaPi)

• ELI Defense Team Member
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
    • ExtortionLetterInfo
« Reply #17 on: January 23, 2015, 10:56:15 AM »