Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: Letter received from LCS  (Read 3987 times)

MrsG

• View Profile
Letter received from LCS
« on: October 24, 2016, 06:20:33 AM »
I received a letter from LCS a couple of days ago enclosing screen shots of 4 small images. One is long since gone from my website, another is minute as part of a collage and the other 2 are small and support the written word.  I'm an adult teacher and write tips about color and style etc. and assumed it was Fair Use as not for commercial gain.

Obviously I'm panicking as I followed the link to their website where they're 'demanding' or 'requesting' something over $2000 - I shut it down pretty quickly, I don't have that kind of money.

OK I've been naive but I've immediately removed the offending images and am of course checking everything else.  I've consulted an online lawyer in the UK (Just Answer) who says not to pay anything, there is a lot of proving to be done before it ever gets to court etc. 

My question to this forum is : do I send a letter apologizing, saying it's taken down etc., claiming Fair Use or just leave it and hope it goes away.  I've read fors and against both courses of action.  Once they know you respond they have you 'on the hook' so to speak.

Would appreciate any thoughts and views.  Many thanks

Robert Krausankas (BuddhaPi)

• ELI Defense Team Member
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
    • ExtortionLetterInfo
Re: Letter received from LCS
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2016, 08:07:25 AM »
keep reading through the forums, ultimately the choice is yours whether to respond or not, either way they wil likely continue to hound you for your hard earned cash.