Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: Settle Directly With Photographer  (Read 2761 times)

The_Phage

• View Profile
Settle Directly With Photographer
« on: September 25, 2014, 02:46:10 PM »
I've searched around for opinions/answers to this, but haven't found anything.

Obviously I've received one of those Getty letters and I'm following the suggestions on this site (I actually started to do that before finding the site, and it's reassuring that I seem to be doing 'the right thing').

Anyway, Getty are just bullying me into a payment. The thing is, I'm a photographer myself, and I honestly want to do right by the photographer. What are people's thoughts on me simply contacting the photographer and making a settlement offer directly, bypassing Getty. At the end of the day, he is the copyright owner. It's him I've done wrong by and him I should make it right with.

To be honest, I think he'd be glad to receive some income from this particular image. There are 1000s like it for less than 100th of the Getty price, so I assume that no one has bought it..?

Robert Krausankas (BuddhaPi)

• ELI Defense Team Member
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
    • ExtortionLetterInfo
Re: Settle Directly With Photographer
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2014, 03:42:39 PM »