Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: A Summary of the Getty Issue in the United States  (Read 49348 times)

Oscar Michelen

• ELI Legal Warrior
    • View Profile
    • Courtroom Strategy
A Summary of the Getty Issue in the United States
« on: December 12, 2008, 10:39:35 AM »
Please note that though I am a lawyer, this summary is presented for informational purposes only and not as a substitute for legal advice. I say that because every case is different and may present different defenses and liabilities. If you feel that something in this summary is incorrect or inappropriate, please send me a private message and I will evaluate whether the summary needs to be changed. Similarly, if you would like to add additional information, please DO NOT POST to this thread.  Either send me a private message asking  me to add the new information or start a new thread or post the info to one of the many current threads. This summary is derived from various other posts so if you are truly interested in the whole picture, take a look at the threads and read through the appropriate posts. Also, you can listen to the two recorded conversations on the home page between myself and Matthew Chan, this website's founder.

I. What's It All About?

Some time in 2005 - 2006, imaging companies like Getty and Corbis formed partnerships with a company called PicScout. PicScout developed a technology whereby bots trawl the internet, attach onto sites and compare images on websites to the images on the Getty and/or Corbis catalog.