Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: College grad with Getty demand for an image used in a school project.  (Read 5358 times)

ACM

• View Profile
Hello all, I'm a 25 year old designer in Illinois and I have just found this message board.

I received a demand letter from Getty images last weekend stating that I used an image from their site without a license and demanding $875 within 14 days to prevent "further action".  I found the image somewhere else through Google image search a few years ago and used it for a school project while I was in college.  A couple of months ago, I put this project on my personal website (which is where they seem to have found it). 

I haven't profited form the use of this image in any way, and it appears in 214x206 size on the website (that gets almost no traffic), so $875 seems unreasonable.  Based on my research, it seems they do this less to protect their own interests and more for the sake of bullying small fish for profit. 

Much of the advice I have seen here (and elsewhere) suggests either sending a carefully crafted response, or outright ignoring them.  I am only a couple years into the beginning of my career and I don't have a lot of money saved up yet.  $875 wouldn't bankrupt me, but I am not one to simply fork over money when I am threatened. I don't have money to pay for a lawyer, so if they did decide to come after me, I feel like I would be pretty screwed.  It seems like the consensus here is that calling them would be a bad idea.

I called a lawyer in the area who supposedly specializes in copyright stuff, and he basically told me that the cost of hiring them would outweigh the $875 they are asking for.