Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: email from Leslie Burns  (Read 15048 times)

iandouglas

• View Profile
email from Leslie Burns
« on: July 26, 2018, 01:19:09 PM »
I've lurked on the forum here for a little bit and would love any input on this.

I got an email from Leslie Burns exactly two weeks ago, with a followup almost precisely 14 days later (today) at almost the exact same time. As a software developer, I recognize this as something akin to a marketing "drip" campaign. I haven't checked yet whether there was tracking data in the message or PDF file sent.

Attached you will find a letter regarding your infringing use of my client’s photograph. I encourage you to read the letter in detail and to seek the advice of your own copyright attorney or your business liability insurer prior to responding.

I look forward to working to a rational resolution with you or your representative.

Sincerely,
Leslie Burns

The initial letter included a PDF file of a claim from a "client" of theirs, about my use of a stock photo I'd found online and using on my Twitter profile. I removed it that day, and even filed a "copyright infringement" against myself on Twitter so Twitter would remove the image entirely from their servers, which they have done.

Funny enough, their "rational" resolution (mentioned in the email) demanded a $7,500.00 payment. They also addressed the PDF letter to me care of my employer's address, which I don't knowingly publish anywhere, so it seems they've done some minor amount of work to find that.