Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: FWIW: Oddball question / thought ... not sure if it's been discussed here  (Read 4090 times)

FGetty

• View Profile
Hi all-  I'm a newbie to this forum, but wanted to post something that I feel (after browsing the forum and finding a TON of great info about defending oneself from these jerks -- thank you all so much!) may be worth considering...

The image Getty sued me for is one that is widely available in print on posters. People hang posters all over the place, in public and in private and, as far as I know (I'm not a lawyer, though), if a poster is hanging somewhere in the real world, there isn't any kind of law that says you can't take a picture of it, for whatever purpose. So, let's say that my friend Bob has one such poster in his home, and he's standing there next to it, and I take his photo. Then, on my business' blog, I post the photo in high-res... maybe I even crop it and just show the poster w/ a note like "Hey, look at this cool poster that was hanging in Bob's home office."

I'm not sure what I'm asking here... it just seems to me that, if you license images to people who are making posters out of them for public display, then that ought to factor into things somehow here. Of course, this is merely one additional thing that, if it came to a trial, I would likely work into a defense. I'm just not sure how.  But, I did want to at least mention it here in case others haven't yet, as I'm happy to contribute any type of defense-style thinking possible against these criminals. Thankfully, they're only suing me for one lonely image. So, I'm ignoring them, and will continue to follow advice I've seen here.