Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: Received Masterfile letter, had developer in India make the site  (Read 5183 times)

abdul1

• View Profile
Hi Oscar and everyone in the Forum,

I was asked to help get my friend's bosses website completed, and I found a developer online to do it for me. Masterfile sent a letter today notifying of copyright infringement.  I called and spoke to the person who sent the letter and informed them that the end user had asked me to get the website done, and that I found a person in india to work on it. I let them know that I had no idea the person was using photo's that weren't paid for, and because I'm a college student with no job, I wouldn't be able to pay the fee they were asking for.  The rep reduced the cost to $1,500 and offered to speak with the General Counsel to see what can be done since I am jobless but responded quickly.  What should I do? I honestly don't have a job and take student loans to pay for school. Thanks for your help in advance.

Sincerely,

Abdul

SoylentGreen

• View Profile
Re: Received Masterfile letter, had developer in India make the site
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2013, 07:05:18 PM »
Welcome to the forums.
Masterfile should be addressing the business that owns the website.
i.e. your friend's boss, et al.

S.G.

abdul1

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2013, 11:24:49 PM »
That's the thing, my friends boss paid me the cost I told him, and when I found someone that was slightly cheaper I used them.  He is now looking to me to pay the fee since I had gotten it made for him. Advise?

rock

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2013, 11:37:39 PM »
DO NOT PANIC and CALM down, not everything they tell you is correct.