Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: Oscar, thank you for being a Champion in this cause!  (Read 4731 times)

tonyritter

Oscar, thank you for being a Champion in this cause!
« on: September 20, 2008, 05:38:30 PM »
Oscar,

As another victim of the GettyImages extortion scam, I want to thank you very much for representing the little guy.  I would very much like to see a class action suit againt this company for such strong arm and devious tactics.  I have found comfort in all the reading this forum and website has provided.

As a web designer, I too thought I had executed due dilligence by using images with no identified copyright notices.  I checked for overt notices and lables, both on the sites offering the images and on the images themselves.  I never found a visual notice of copyright, watermark of ownership or any other indicators on any images I used.  I even went so far as to open the files in various photo ehancement and forensic programs to search inside the digital file's meta-data for stored information on copyright and image ownership - I found nothing.

You can't tell me that a company that has the resources to scour 600 million computers on the Internet and billions of web pages across the globe in search of copyright infringements, can't watermark or imprint a file's meta-data with a copyright notification.  And they knowingly register these images on common search engines, so that they appear easily and may be acquired by consumers on the Internet with a simple right mouse click.   Once consumers get and use it, they then pounce, threaten and intimidate.  They are simply predators in wait.