Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: Pixsy Letter (photographer has history of suing)  (Read 31507 times)

Ethan Seven

• View Profile
Re: Pixsy Letter (photographer has history of suing)
« Reply #15 on: August 15, 2018, 03:03:10 AM »
Your argument is flawed, again.  Getty owns istock, but Istock is not Getty.    istock is a discount line of royalty free images.  Getty focuses on rights managed images that cost much more.  So, Schwabel is probably getting paid much more than you think.

Go on to Getty’s site and you will see images that get licensed  for hundreds and thousands of dollars.  There are higher end agencies that sell images for even more money. 
Even if I am a lawyer, I am not your lawyer.  Copyright matters can have serious consequences.  If you have assets worth protecting, consult a lawyer who is familiar with copyright law and who can review the facts of your case. If you cannot afford one, call your state or county bar association.

DavidVGoliath

• View Profile
« Reply #16 on: August 15, 2018, 06:56:47 AM »
Your argument is flawed, again. Getty owns iStock, but Istock is not Getty. iStock is a discount line of royalty free images.  Getty focuses on rights managed images that cost much more.  So, Schwabel is probably getting paid much more than you think.

I just popped on to iStock moments ago; a search for "Tom Schwabel" or "Thomas Schwabel" returned no images. Conversely, he has 168 images listed on Getty.

So: Schwabel will most likely be receiving a royalty rate of 35% which means that, outside of volume licensing clients (who tend to license news/sports shots) he'll be earning semi-decent royalties from his works there.