Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: Received a Complaint from BWP Media USA  (Read 69919 times)

Jerry Witt (mcfilms)

• View Profile
    • Motion City
Re: Received a Complaint from BWP Media USA
« Reply #15 on: November 26, 2013, 01:42:50 PM »
I know it is after-the-fact, but I would encourage you to file as a DMCA agent:

http://www.wired.com/threatlevel/2010/10/dmca-righthaven-loophole/
Although I may be a super-genius, I am not a lawyer. So take my scribblings for what they are worth and get a real lawyer for real legal advice. But if you want media and design advice, please visit Motion City at http://motioncity.com.

lucia

• View Profile
« Reply #16 on: November 26, 2013, 01:45:32 PM »
It's not so much that I'm looking to archive it in the state it was.  It's more that I'd like it to be uncertain whether it ever existed in that state or not, especially if all they have is a screenshot. 
I understand all they gave you was a screenshot.  But as a blogger, I don't quite know why the fact that all they have is a screenshot affects your ability to know the state of your web page.  I can know stuff about my web pages based on my own access to the page. So I can determine what the state of the page is on any given date.  And my blog doesn't just go around randomly changing itself (unless it gets hacked. And if I was hacked, that might be a defense on a copyright violation!)