Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: Received a letter, stressed  (Read 7223 times)

als

• View Profile
Received a letter, stressed
« on: April 04, 2012, 08:35:50 AM »
Hello there - so relieved to find this forum.  I am a freelance designer and stay at home mom, currently pregnant with #2.  Yesterday I received this letter, the screenshot they are showing is my site's old design and the page is for an old client mock-up from early 2009 that never went live.  Of course I simply removed the page and all associated files, it was just an oversite that it was still there after 3 years. The image in question is one from a free background images site and I can find the image repeatedly still from these sources.  I just don't understand how a company can get away with this type of letter with no warning. I was reading about the letter program and the idea of just not having to deal with them sounds nice - but what has the end outcome been for most?  I read though everything for hours last night and cannot decide which direction to go. 

Robert Krausankas (BuddhaPi)

• ELI Defense Team Member
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
    • ExtortionLetterInfo
Re: Received a letter, stressed
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2012, 08:59:44 AM »
You basically have 3 main choices..

1. Settle with them and it will be over with.
2. Handle it your self and wait out the 3 years statute
3. Hire Oscar and wait out the statute

No one on here will advise you to take option #1, the image just isn't worth that much, no matter what Getty tells you.

There are plenty here that opt for option #2, if you have the stomach to deal with it, as you will go thru the typical cycle.