Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: Stand and Fight vs. Sit and Wait? (US)  (Read 3564 times)

CentrePointe

Stand and Fight vs. Sit and Wait? (US)
« on: November 10, 2010, 03:52:48 PM »
Hello ELI Community,

I am an apartment manager in California that received Getty's "Unauthorized Use" letter regarding two images on our building's website on October 7th. As soon as I got the letter, I contacted Getty to find out more information. I got all the stock "we just want to make sure our artists are compensated" responses and gave them my email to follow up with me. I asked if the originally proposed $1,475.00 with a two week deadline was negotiable and was told to expect an email. The email arrived indicating that a mere $1,100.00 would make it go away, but that I only have seven days to respond. Some how I managed to cut the amount "due" by a third while simultaneously cutting my timeline in half! I immediately removed the images, began searching the web about this letter and was ultimately led here.