Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: Use of image in creative portfolio  (Read 4406 times)

Aaronymous

Use of image in creative portfolio
« on: July 06, 2011, 05:50:58 PM »
Hi - I am new to the club... having just received an infringement letter from Masterfile.

Being a photo-illustrator by trade, my pieces often involve a combination of original studio photography with stock elements. Being a photographer myself, I am religious about securing the rights for any images used in one of my pieces, and in fact, have often turned down lucrative offers to resell images because I did not have the rights to some of the elements in the illustration for more than one use.

I received a letter from Masterfile stating that I had violated copyright on an image used as a background element in one of my photo-illustrations. The illustration appeared on a new portfolio website I was building. The website is still under construction, and the image had been sort of thrown up there to be considered with other images in my portfolio.  The image in question was originally used legally, with my client at the time, a magazine, licensing the image for use in the illustration. This may be the factor that makes this tricky... the image was licensed by my client, at my instruction. Not by me personally.

While I am hardcore in my belief that artists and photographers should be compensated for use of their images, I feel we are treading into tricky ground when creative image professionals are not allowed to even show examples of their capabilities and past work without paying usage fees.