Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: Web designer shares his view  (Read 6258 times)

extorted

Web designer shares his view
« on: July 18, 2008, 06:46:06 PM »
Hi Mathew and Oscar,

I agree with you 1000%. Your cause is just and you will prevail in the end. That is because of thousands of people like myself who 1) have also been bullied by Getty and 2) believe in fighting for principle.

I am a web designer who actually never believed that anyone would pay real money for my designs. Several years ago, I came up some of Getty's images and admit in hindsight that it the unauthorized use of someone else's material is wrong. But back then I was an upstart and had no idea of the law or rules for image use. One thing I was aware of however was the ease at which I was able to capture the images. I was not a very technical person back then and was just starting out in the business. Other than the fine print that nobody bothers to reads, there was little or no effort on Getty's part to discourage unauthorized use.