Retired Forums > Hawaiian Letters & Lawsuits Forum

Hawaii Attorney - "Jimbo" Stephen Street

(1/1)

Matthew Chan:
James Stephen Street (J-Steph) aka known as the 65-year old, presumably Social Security collecting lawyer who pissed away 50-years of his life before he realized he really wanted to be a "painter of the Hawaiian ugly" (snark).

http://images.fasocdn.com/5604_117664m.jpg

An excerpt of his own words from his website jstephenstreet.com.

It was with very mixed emotions that I came to the realization in 2007 that I have been painting in oils for 50 years, in the "spare time" I could borrow away, first from school, then from practicing law, raising a family, .... and many, many life obligations that competed for my time.  Certainly it is a milestone, but there is so much more painting I want to do before I am through. 

My art has always been at the core of who I am and what I have longed to be doing.  My desire to create in oils on canvas was born out of the only formal art training I had (at age eight) and has only intensified and become more urgent as the years pass....

How does that sound to you?  It sounds like he became a lawyer because he was too much of a chicken-shit to pursue what he wanted in life.  He blames the other things like school, family, coaching, etc. that "competed" for his time.  Ummm.... this guy really sounds like a guy who had control over his life, right?  They didn't "compete" for his time. He simply didn't have the stones or what it took.  Instead he decided to "play it safe" and grind away at a large law firm for nearly 30 years.

I can't believe it took him until age 57 to figure out what his dreams were. And when he did figure it out, it took him another 4 years at age 61 to leave the Rush Moore law firm. I suppose all he needed to do is fill in the 4-years before his Social Security income kicked in.