Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: Hawaiian Artwork, LLC Files Lawsuit!  (Read 19366 times)

smitty

• View Profile
Re: Hawaiin Artwork, LLC Files Lawsuit!
« Reply #15 on: December 12, 2011, 08:38:19 PM »
This is my first time posting on here.  Thank you in advance for your help.  Approximately 2 months ago my wife received a letter from Leslie Burns, Esq.  (letterhead of: Carolyn Wright, PhotoAttorney) alledging an infringement on our part of a single picture by Vincent Tylor (Hawaiian Art Network).  I will start by saying this, we never received any official correspondence, only an emailed letter (which is a little unprofessional).  The letter very boldly attacks us and paints us as thieves.  It says we knowingly infringed, making us liable up to $150,000.00.  It offers to settle around $3500.00. 

The photo in question was taken from a site portraying it as "free", which we now (of course) understand to be untrue.  My question is this: our unintentional errant use of the photo occurred nearly 4 months prior to the registration date of the copyright (based on the copyright registration number they provided us & the date on my wife's blog, which they included a screen shot of in the letter).  The publication date is over 9 years prior to the registration date (clearly more than 3 months).