Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: Got a Higbee letter - how can I ask for proof of copyright ownership?  (Read 9308 times)

Sid the geek

• View Profile
Hi all! Newbie here. This is a great forum, extremely helpful. Very grateful for the support!

Long story short, I got a letter from Higbee. Looks like it's a follow-up to some emails and letters that picrights sent earlier in the year, that I ignored, pertaining to just one image on our website (which I promptly took down as soon as I got the first email). Higbee now asks for $1200. Before I respond to him: How can I ask for proof that he or his client actually owns the copyright? In other words, is there perhaps a US Copyright Library website somewhere, to which I can ask him to provide a deep link, showing the specific image and the copyright number with which it is registered? Obviously if he can't prove that he or his client owns the copyright, we shouldn't have to even bother with this.

Thanks in advance!

marketer44

• View Profile
Re: Got a Higbee letter - how can I ask for proof of copyright ownership?
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2018, 03:11:43 PM »
I just received one too, claiming a small amount of $1400 for one image used twice. Asking the community to share their case information on how they beat this or what they did as the outcome of this situation. Thanks!

Ethan Seven

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2018, 03:25:57 PM »