Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: Just got a letter from Higbee  (Read 9186 times)

Dills

• View Profile
Just got a letter from Higbee
« on: February 05, 2019, 10:27:39 PM »
I just discovered this forum today so I'm still pretty new to all of this. Yesterday I received a letter from Higbee Associates informing me that I was in violation of using a copyright image a few times in a blog post I made back in 2016. They asked for about $50k to settle. A little about my site: It's never been incorporated as a business and is a pretty small affair overall. In total I've made like $100 from ads over the years but that is definitely not a profit when considering facebook promotion, URL registration, and getting the wordpress tools. I was pretty green back then, mostly doing stories about cute animals, endangered species, or neat scientific breakthroughs...pretty light and feel good. I haven't updated in quite some time, almost a year I think. Anyway this has me pretty freaked out. I have about $60 in my bank account and virtually nothing in my name (no car or house). I really don't know what to do and I'd like to stop panicking. Any advise would be appreciated. 

Matthew Chan

• ELI Founder, "Admin-on-Hiatus"
  • Administrator
  • 1st Amendment & Section 230 CDA Advocate
    • View Profile
    • Defiantly
Re: Just got a letter from Higbee
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2019, 12:03:12 AM »
$50K for one image? Are you sure about that? I have never heard of anyone demanding this much for one image.

Start reading this forum and you will get an idea of how this scheme works.