Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: Letter from Lynn Burke, Sanders Law  (Read 15380 times)

needingdirection

• View Profile
Letter from Lynn Burke, Sanders Law
« on: January 19, 2018, 05:19:04 PM »
I am an independent contractor with a brokerage in California. We received an email from Lynn Burke of Sanders Law, to our general company email regarding a picture I used in a blog post back in April 2017. I am always very careful to purchase pictures or use ones offered for free. This one was offered for free. I did not know or understand the "attribution" clause, that i recently read on their site. The "client" of Sanders Law is RM media (have seen them mentioned in your conversations). I was ignorant and made the mistake of emailing them, not fully understanding the concept of trolling. They responded and asked for $2,200 in damages by today and claimed "commercial use" of the free picture costs $259.00. Not sure what the definition is of commercial use. My actions have been: I first added the attribute and then a few days later just deleted the picture from the blog post. My question is what is the reality that they will file a lawsuit against me? and possibly my broker? What, if any should my next response be? I am assuming since I didn't comply with their deadline and assumption that I am in the wrong I will be hearing from them again. Any help or direction is greatly appreciated. Thank you

Matthew Chan

• ELI Founder, "Admin-on-Hiatus"
  • Administrator
  • 1st Amendment & Section 230 CDA Advocate
    • View Profile
    • Defiantly
Re: Letter from Lynn Burke, Sanders Law
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2018, 10:36:54 AM »