Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: 25 cents per pixel - for using thumb nail of a site I designed  (Read 4019 times)

wwc96

• View Profile
25 cents per pixel - for using thumb nail of a site I designed
« on: January 22, 2013, 11:50:31 PM »
I hope you find this post as outrageous as I do...

I am a web developer, 16 years in business, and always careful to inform clients about their image responsibilities.  I built a site a few years ago, and the client chose the photos for me to insert.  One of those photos was apparently a getty image of shish-ka-bobs cooking on a grill.

I create a thumb-nail snap shot of all sites periodically for my web site portfolio. those images are about 150px wide and the thumb-nail of the site in question included a TINY, BLURRY version of the image at no larger than 80x60px.   The image was barely distinguishable.  In fact, I am absolutely amazed at how their software program even found this image. 

The image is surely not promoting my business in any way. I never intended to use it to help my business or any other.  It is surely not doing any damage and there would be no reason for me to steal or use this image for any reason, aside from showing someone else's site that happens to display that image of course.

More importantly, the very concept of being punished for such a thing brings up an interesting question.  What should web developers do when trying to show thumb-nails of their web sites with photos on them? 

It seems to me, that according to Getty, I needed to pay THEM for the right to display their tiny image on my site for any client that actually has the image on their site.