Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: Extortion Letter from PicRights UK  (Read 29610 times)

UKDave

• View Profile
Extortion Letter from PicRights UK
« on: May 31, 2018, 02:03:31 PM »
I am a web designer for a company in the UK. A client of mine has received an email from PicRightsUK regarding a stock image that I have used on their website.

The image in question was downloaded in good faith from a free stock image website, freegreatpicture.com.

In my Naivety, I had assumed this was a public domain image, but realise now that this isn’t the case.

I have of course since removed the image in question and deleted all trace of the image and URL from the web server, but regardless of this, they are requesting that my client pays £850

They have sent out by way of email and via post 3 reminders now, which we have just ignored. Their latest reminder says...

"Unless you contact us or remit payment within 14 days, we may refer this matter to legal counsel to pursue other options"

What should we do? Do we keep on ignoring this and hope they will go away? Are they just bluffing or will they really get a solicitor on the case and bump up the cost even more?

Has anyone else had dealings with PicRights?

Thanks

DavidVGoliath

• View Profile
Re: Extortion Letter from PicRights UK
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2018, 09:36:20 AM »
You're free to ignore it if you so choose but, if they do file a court claim (which they don't need a solicitor to do - you can self-represent for the majority of UK civil cases) then it won't go well for you/your client.