Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: I'm a Newbie who just received a Peter T. Holt Demand Letter...  (Read 4159 times)

cececam

• View Profile
I'm a Newbie who just received a Peter T. Holt Demand Letter...
« on: December 02, 2016, 03:07:06 AM »
Hello,

I just received a "website copyright infringement" letter from a Holt Law Firm, signed by attorney Peter T. Holt, demanding payment over $1500, on behalf of a photographer. The letter includes a copyright registration number...allegedly for the image in question. The letter also came with a copy of a screenshot image of my Twitter post, in which the image in question is displayed.

The image in question had once appeared on my small business' Twitter feed back in April, in a very innocuous post to welcome springtime, accompanied by a remark as to the breathtaking colors of wildflowers in front of a mountain and lake view. It did not get any retweets, likes or any other response. It just sat there unnoticed until now.

It's important to note that I had obtained this image from one of the free download websites, but cannot recall at the moment which one it was. Normally I purchase all my RF licenses for all the images I want to use commercially, but for everyday "hello" and "happy Spring" posts that are non-promotional, I have occasionally relied on the free photo-sharing sites or free-download sites or public domain pics.  Needless to say, I immediately removed the image and related tweet. but at no time did I ever have reason to believe that this photo's status was in question.