Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: My Client Received the "Infamous" Letter  (Read 3996 times)

jflores81

My Client Received the "Infamous" Letter
« on: February 22, 2012, 10:50:33 PM »
Hi,

I am an Internet Consultant and had a web-site designed for one of my clients in Feb. of 2008.  Last week, she received a letter from Getty demanding $2,600 for 3 images from their Stone Collection.  Like everyone else, this came as a surprise to me because we are very diligent with regards to obtaining licensed images.  Nonetheless, I removed the pictures within an hour of my client contacting me and I asked her to fax me the letter.

I contacted Getty and spoke to Janeah and Dave (who were extremely rude and condescending).  I explained that my company was responsible for building the site and we would like to resolve the matter, however, we felt that the amount being demanded was extreme.  For 20 minutes, the conversation was very accusatory and was definitely not productive.  Finally, after requesting that they provide proof that they are in fact the FIRST and ONLY company to have rights to these images, Dave advised that he would no longer give the "courtesy" of speaking with me since I was not the alleged infringer and the conversation ended.