Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: 8-16-2013 -- MasterFile -- Fair use?  (Read 12681 times)

eqszaz

• View Profile
8-16-2013 -- MasterFile -- Fair use?
« on: August 17, 2013, 10:04:39 PM »
Masterfile sent me a FedEx letter today.  I began reading your forums for the first time today.  Here is a brief summary of my situation.

I operate a blog with mental health information (I am a clinical psychologist).  The blog contains no advertising revenue and no goods or services are sold on the blog.  The blog links to my website which does list my information for clinical psychology services, but the blog itself does not promote these services.

One of my blog posts contained an image that masterfile claims to own the copyright.  I took the image down upon receiving the letter.

I immediately called the contact person in the letter and explained that I have taken the image down.  I also explained that my blog provides public service information (suicide prevention, mental health information) and is non-commercial and I believe there is a copyright exception for such material.

I asked the contact person to call me so I can discuss the issue further with him.

I have complied with the request to take the image down.  I read about fair use of copyright material and public service announcements and education seem to be legitimate exceptions.

I would appreciate it if anyone could share information on the use of this exception, especially if related to these letters by master file.

Thanks for the helpful information. 

eqszaz

• View Profile
Re: 8-16-2013 -- MasterFile -- Fair use?
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2013, 12:38:25 PM »
I reached Geoffrey Beal of MasterFile today. I explained my rationale that: