Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: ADVICE NEEDED: How to deal with Getty  (Read 5507 times)

GettyVictim2010

• View Profile
ADVICE NEEDED: How to deal with Getty
« on: December 22, 2010, 11:44:01 PM »
First of all i would like to that you guys for creating this website and offering your assistance for dealing with Getty and their outrageous claims. I have read through many of the posts here and after receiving my unauthorized use letter i have responded using some of your methods.

Let me sum up my story:
I am a web designer and I built a website for my client about a year ago and they recently got the letter. The image in question was an image i got from a website which posted the image and advertised it as free/royalty free and that all rights/licenses/uses of the image were covered so i believed I was covered. Fast forward to a couple weeks ago and my client receives the letter stating that Getty images owns the image and they demand $1225 to settle the issue. A bit shocked I immediately removed the images from the site and attempted to find the site where i originally found the image but it could no longer be located and the only copy of the image i could find was on the Getty images website with a large watermark on it. Is it possible Getty is posting their images on sites like this in order to later come back and accuse people of copyright infringement? So I sent them an email stating my situation and I received the usual response that Getty images manages the rights to the image and that i must pay their ridiculous licensing fees. They did reduce the amount to $1050 as a gesture of "good will".