Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: Advice on Getty Image situation  (Read 3545 times)

xanderp

Advice on Getty Image situation
« on: November 22, 2011, 09:21:44 AM »
I am new to the site and figured I would write my story in the hopes of getting some advice from others in my same situation. Getty Images has been one of the worst companies I have ever dealt with as they continue to treat me like I am a criminal.

I am a web designer in California and recently used a couple of Getty images on a website that was in a development stage for my client. Development stage meaning that there was no real content on the site and it was just for the client and I to see while we worked on it. These two images I used from Getty were images that I thought would look good in the banners of the website which i was trying to sell the client on buying before we launched the site. Long story short, the client disappeared for about a month pushing us over the 30 day limit you can use the photos for. The photos were up for about 2.5 months I hadn't been aware of this time frame to warn my client as Getty images makes you have to really search their site to get this information. I feel in a way that they want you to go over that 30 day marker so they can come after you.

Getty images then sends my client a letter demanding immediate removal and payment of $1800 for the miss use of photos. In hearing this, I immediately took the images down and started calling Getty images to explain the situation. Janea Davis who is our case manager at Getty Images and is one of the meanest most unreasonable people I have ever spoken to in my life. Before I could even explain my situation I was immediately under attack.