Click Official ELI Links
Get Help With Your Extortion Letter | ELI Phone Support | ELI Legal Representation Program
Show your support of the ELI website & ELI Forums through a PayPal Contribution. Thank you for supporting the ongoing fight and reporting of Extortion Settlement Demand Letters.

Author Topic: Getty Demand in Australia  (Read 4154 times)

awaldo

Getty Demand in Australia
« on: April 30, 2009, 09:13:59 AM »
Firstly I would like to extend my thanks to both Oscar and Matthew for providing this information. It has been of great help. I too have recently gotten myself in the middle of a Getty Letter for $4000 (since Dec) and am deciding on where to go next.

I am a designer who, whilst as a design student and with inexperience, designed a website in early 2006 for a colleague using a number of images from Microsoft's "Free" clipart website. My colleague has been issued with The Letter.

I was completely unaware and uninformed during the process of downloading the images from Microsoft's website that they in fact belonged to Getty (they are actually owned by Getty's smaller company iStockPhoto). Microsoft did not make this clear and I only recently found out that they still only state, right before downloading, that the user cannot use Microsoft's services for business - no mention of Getty/iStock.

Although it is my colleague who is being attacked, I took action by seeking a copyright lawyer who replied back to Getty with references stating that there are, in fact sections, within the Copyright Act that give "allowances" for innocent infringement.